The week that was

So how did last 7 days go? Firstly, Well HT aadeed one nail to its coffin(in the blogosphere) by losing its credibility by stealing a blogger’s photograph.

Secondly, I asked my newspaper vendor to stop delivering TOI and switched to The Hindu.

For the past few months, I was depending on Internet to get the latest news. TOI? well it has all the latest gossip, all about movies and hell lot of pictures of film stars, models, and I have wondering if Mr Vijay Mallya has a share in the newspaper. His cutout would be coming along with the newspaper almost everyday !!!!!!!!!!!

Third, I hope everyone is forcing themselves to use less plastic nowadays. Well the sooner we force ourselves, the better.

Fourth, I mentioned somewhere that I was happy with Hathway ! I AM NOT ! Since Friday I am facing problems with the internet and noone seems to be interested in resolving them. And today when the hathway guys knocked on my door… its working. I was like “WHAT the….”

I thanked them and they left, I turned to the modem only to find that the connection is gone again ! I was again “WHAT THE ….”

I called them again (fourth time this weekend). And yes I am blogging 3 hours later.

Interestingly there is no word called Blog in the OpenOffice writer’s dictionary. (explanation here)

Fifth, you should read the Dilbert for sunday. Its hilarious.

Six, The meteorological department says that the monsoon will be coming to kerala in 2 days. According to the people living there, its been raining continuously for 3 days now. πŸ™‚

By the time I typed till here, the connection is down again. Now I will post this once the connection is established ! 😦

Update : 9PM Sunday : The connection is up again.

8AM Monday : The connection went off yesterday when I clicked publish. I am trying again.

12:45PM Monday : The connection went down again (WHAT THE !!!!) I am trying again.

Β 

27 comments

  1. Perhaps there is a term called web log in the writer’s dictionary? Blog is after all the short form of web log.
    I am now thinking of switching from Hindustan Times to the Indian Express as I heard their editorials are good. I read The Hindu off and on on the net but if I am nto satisfied with the Express, I’ll switch to the Hindu. I tried DNA but its a watered down version of the TOI. I subscribe to the TOI but am not happy with it though its okay on weekdays. The weekends, editorials, celebrity columns are not to my liking except for Swaminath A.A

  2. Nita, I have to check that. πŸ™‚
    I think Indian express has improved a lot. The Hindu has strong opinions, editorials and its the no nonsense newspaper. they have less ads and no gossip !
    I guess I can read TOI at work and Hindu at home. πŸ™‚

  3. I use TOI to cover my pressed clothes with hot *****. πŸ˜€ Well whats its use other than that. In Pune, “Pune Mirror” is giving pretty good impression but its all about Pune only.

    Is there any reliable internet service provider in India? Why don’t you conduct a small poll?

  4. Suda,
    TOI has its readers because of the extensive bangalore + Gossip it provides (daily extra 4 pages called Bangalore Times just for that).

    They are targetting the youth ofcourse, there would be extensive reports on murders and other sensational news, with less politics and national matters.
    You should read their editorials, it was IPL all the time. πŸ™‚

  5. Oyi, I forgot to mention, I read them BTW(sometimes) and here in Pune, we get 6-8 pages Pune Times πŸ˜€

  6. ha ha
    I don’t know abt TOI but BM certainly carried lot of storie against Mallya
    oh and ur internet is inconsistent? why am I not surprised? and hey Dilbert’s always funny
    Talking of Hindu I seriously disapprove of their extreme leftist attitude.. nothing against the left but just that the news appears too skewed most times!
    I like ed, op-ed brilliant pieces.. I don’t follow any particular writer though

  7. megcloud9 · · Reply

    TOI is more like a catalogue that Big Bazaar offers us–I discovered 4 entire pages of full length big bazaar product ads recently-aargh ! with entire price listing et all and they offer another version of the same paper without this 4 page Ad sheets (I think!) esp d p3 reporting@bangalore times is dismal and seems like just a waste of time .

    Next in line is Mid-day ,yuck ! what have they begun to print?! what started off as a simple noon tabloid has turned into a sleazy ad filled paper with reams of junk printed ! they need to pull up their pants bigg time !

    I think Bangalore Mirror is pretty good though we stick to Deccan Herald here @ home πŸ™‚

  8. Suda, haha. the only good thing about TOI is that I can sell everything off for rs 100 every 3 months. (so eventually I get around 3 months of subscription free annually.. do the math !).
    Balu,
    against? TOI is always like “Go mallya GO”
    the ed is the best!

  9. megcloud9,
    Yeah, that is true. in addition to that I get 5-6 ad leaflets of local shops, fitness centres, etc which all fall off when the open the newspaper. AAARGH I hate when papers start falling off when i rest on my bean bag armed with a coffee to read the morning news !
    No leaflets with the Hindu tho.

  10. it rained very heavily in karnataka yesterday…. how was ur place?

  11. megcloud9 · · Reply

    aah The Hindu,sometimes real plain πŸ™‚ no bakwas news ! πŸ˜€

  12. well about the 6 the one
    meteorological is nt that wrong, it rains only at night n its still summer during daytime 😦

  13. Ankur,its was raining ! heavily ! πŸ™‚
    Megcloud9, no bakwas,:D lol.
    Rekha, I guess they never bothered to walk out in the open during night times. πŸ™‚

  14. Ah, you told me that Hathway was fine. And too bad it started screwing up. You told me the electricity situation in your city was fine and you had power cuts. Maybe you should stop telling me things. πŸ˜›

    Hathway has been really annoying lately btw. My computer’s LAN card blew up and they fitted a new USB LAN Card and I have to take out the cable and put it back in every now and then. And whenever I leave something on download, the connection decides to stop working. It’s really annoying.

  15. Ish,
    I should either ‘touch wood’ when i tell you things or learn when to shut up.
    😦
    hathway is noway showing justice to the money I pay, they tell me that they have problems at the North Point, I had to yell at the lady at the other end “I dont care if you have a problem with the North Point or the North Pole…….”

  16. Its been raining for 3 days.. but monsoon hasnt come (visa issues)

  17. You know, I prefer reading about IPL rather than politics! I guess most of the political news is just sensation too. However I do love reading about economics which is pretty good in the economic times.

  18. Vijay,
    haha, might be also the long queues at the new airport. (bad joke)
    Nita,
    ha ! I read the IPL too !.

  19. Here’s another one.. May be its stranded at Devanahalli airport.. it doesnt know how to come here! =P devana yelli!!

  20. Balu,
    In the world of PJ’s you rule. πŸ˜€

  21. megcloud9 · · Reply

    @balu

    infact wasnt it Mirror that ran that column for almost 2 weeks before the BIAL launch ? i think they even had a meet to discuss various issues bout the BIAL ? πŸ™‚ and it is a PJ πŸ˜› ?

    it is not if the airport doesnt know,its a satire to ask where really is our airport,miles n miles away πŸ™‚

  22. balu,megcloud9..I am lost, where were we? Talking about the airport, the taxi drivers charge around 850Bucks for a drop. 😦

  23. megcloud9 · · Reply

    i dunno πŸ™‚

    the devana is yelli,nimge gotha saar ? πŸ™‚

  24. megcloud9,
    Kannada gothilla.
    πŸ™‚

  25. megcloud9 · · Reply

    sullu helbedi sir πŸ˜‰ !

  26. I read both TOI and Hindu. Hindu for news and TOI for gossips / page3 news.
    BTW, did i tell you I am typo finder? You made Dilbert as Dibert πŸ™‚

  27. Megcloud9,
    😦 what does that mean?
    Harsha,
    thanx. I have changed it. πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

