The Space Pen

My brother visited a cousin of mine in the US. My cousin is settled at Washington DC.. My brothers went to see the Air and Space Museum, and then my cousin displayed his special ‘Space Pen’. This is one pen, he explained that could work under zero gravity. It cost the government some money to do research and make the ‘space pen’. The research started when the astronauts found out that they cannot use the normal ball-point pen under zero gravity.

After an hour lecture on the Pen, displaying 360 view of it. My brother said “I think they should have used a pencil instead”

My brother had received this forward, but my cousin definitely has not.

When NASA first started sending up astronauts, they discovered that ball-point pens would not work in zero gravity. To combat this problem, NASA scientists spent a decade and $12 million developing a pen that writes in zero gravity, upside down, underwater, on almost any surface including glass and at temperatures ranging from below freezing to over 300C.
When confronted with the same problem, the Russians used a pencil.

But is this true? Apparently not! Read this.

21 comments

  1. Oh dear oh dear, donno weather to laugh or cry!:-)

    I believe this US-Russian tale is invented by some American basher and amalgamated it to the space story…hehehehe

    Good read, xylene

  2. Ha ha ha ha .. That was a good one !!

    I’m wondering what would have Indians created it for the same problem ???

  3. True or not, it’s a funny story!

  4. Hahaha! Yeah, I’ve got that forward too… Hilarious! 🙂

  5. lol .. have seen this forward earlier … but I am confused even after reading the link that u have given 😦

    btw, I am ok now .. just need to do something about my health lol .. fever has made me really weak ..

  6. good that i could read the eRumour wala page… there are so many such mails doing rounds that most of the time it gets difficult to know what’s right and what’s wrong!!

    One such recent rumour is the Indian National has been selected as the best anthom over the world, which again is a hoax!!

  7. Its true story 😀 He he he … There goes my MIT Dream.

  8. lol 😛

    @chirax: oh!y?

  9. LOL 😀 very funny!

  10. Scorpio,
    Thanks 🙂
    Soham, I think we are still wondering why we need to write anything if we reach the moon. We could use a PDA aswell.

    Nita,
    😀
    Nikhil,
    lol
    Dinu,
    Good to know that u are well. Write some posts, get some comments to make u feel good. ;D
    Sakhi,
    I always check for every forward whether its true. Because 80% of them are not.

    Chirax, Vishesh, Reema
    🙂

  11. I received this forward but didn’t know that it was fake.

  12. Oh. I have seen this pen and heard the story. Did not realize it was not all true ;-).

  13. read about it eons backs. but that was good laugh 🙂

  14. Really :O
    I thought every human who had an email id had seen that forward at least once …if not been spammed 😀

  15. interesting 🙂

  16. LOL /..
    thats really interesting..who cares about truth 😀 !!

  17. Ha ha..ya I have herad it of too! 😀
    Good one 🙂 A pencil wudnt write on a glass though 😉
    Someone asked what Indians would do..I guess Americans would have done allthe R&D stuff in US and outsorced the manufacturing of that ball point pen to India 😉 (That was supposed to be taken on a lighter note!) 🙂

  18. Xylene, couldn’t find a correct place, so Happy Diwali 🙂

  19. @Xylene: Sorry tried to write with the space pen, the words went up in air. So trying the good old way of commenting.. HAPPY DIWALI (minus the landlord lady) 😉

  20. My3,
    Not all true, not all lies. I dont know for sure 😀

    S4n705h,
    It takes a while to write you name 🙂 Thanks

    Meira,
    haha, yeah may be he dont read all those forwards.

    Megcloud9,
    Yes it is 🙂 and funny.

    Arvind,
    Yeah !! 😀

    Manoj,
    That would be true, it wouldnt be long when they start outsourcing NASA stuff to india as well.

    Chirax,
    Happy Diwali to you too !! Thanks!!

    Seema,
    hahahahaha. Happy Diwali !!! I got rid of her.. I moved !

  21. This is an excellent and funny as well.

Leave a Reply

