The swipe Flu

I have been in this industry for 4 years now. I would be just another guy working in the Technolgy Services (out of  1 MM). But recently I realized I have the swipe Flu. Now what is Swipe flu?

To get more understanding of it, let’s look into a day of my life at work.

 I enter the building with the identity card worn around my neck, which dances around with each step I take. I swipe the card at the reader to open the door. I swipe the card at my department door. I swipe the card when I go out to the break out area(coffee machine area). I swipe the card at the door when I walk out of the building. I swipe the card when I go out to cafeteria.I realized that my hand automatically picks up the card and swipe it at the reader every time I see a door. I am doing this subconsciously. I do it when I am walking out of the door talking to my colleague, or when I am on the phone. I don’t even realize that I am doing it every time I open a door.

 Well I realized there is something wrong when I tried opening the lift door with my card. And when I tried opening the apartment door with my card.

 I almost lost it when I tired to open my car door with my i-card.

 I talked to a colleague of mine and he said these are symptoms of something called the swipe flu.

I wish if we would have just used a register at the reception. 

Do you have these symptoms?

22 comments

  1. haha! Well I am glad I don’t work at a high security company like yours! But I do have another sort of bug. You know the kind which calls the garbage bin a recyle bin! It’s a sign that one needs a holiday!

  2. 😀

    Once I tried opening the washroom door by swiping my I card….:D

  3. 🙂 we have a register at the reception.

  4. Some things were really great in the past. Like registers at the reception.
    Thankfully, I still haven’t cuaght this disease.

  5. I’ve had times when i left my swipe card in the office and went out. Had to call up colleagues to get in!

    Mixed blessing…this plethora of security mechanisms!

  6. Nice post. The icard sure opened up your mind though 😀
    In our office we have to register at the reception no swiping.

  7. Hahaha! I realized that I have been suffering from it too!

  8. Once I tried to swipe… no wait! …

    It was something like this

  9. LOL! And how i know!! 🙂

  10. Hahahaha,

    Dude, don’t worry. You are not the only person suffering this.

  11. lolz..nice post dude.I guess this is quite rampant and the govts. aren’t worried about it.

    it isn’t far before people will be swiping in their dreams with the hand towards the heavens moving horizontally 😛

  12. nice one there 😀

  13. Nita,
     lol Yes and when you start using ‘Default option is’ instead of usually.

    Smita,
    Oops.:)

    Reema,
    Good for you. 😉
    Dev, Balu
    Yes, things of past are the best in this case.
    J, Vishesh, 🙂
    Ameerkandesi,
    😀 I have left it at home and had to take a u-turn and go back to get it. Atleast 10-15 times.
    Amit,
    I am glad that I am not alone.
    Anshul, Sakhi, 😀 lol.

    Rahul,
    Yes, they aren’t bothered about other flu which are spreading. I don’t think they would pay attention to this ! :

    Dinu, 🙂

  14. I chanced upon your blog and found it very informative. The event blogs are striking enough to have a feel of the event, so, I would like to have a little chit-chat on your blogging interests. And even we are coming up with an event on startups on June 6th in Bangalore. So, can I have your contact details? Looking forward to hear from you.

  15. I have the username flu… I type my work id where ever i see a bar… My bank id’s got locked thrice now and i’ve reset my gtalk password some 5 times!!!
    *Work Kills*!!

  16. Welcome to the machined life

  17. Blog Xylene blog…..

  18. yes i do feel the same. but only twice a day…:)

  19. I guess every IT employee feels so – and yes I surely have swipe flu !

Leave a Reply

