What’s with me and Bangalore now?

Pigs.

The pigs in my area have increased. The mother pig have given birth to atleast a dozen of them giving way (read garbage) to the new generation. They don’t seem to be scared of the flu.

The flyover.

The flyover near my place at HSR Layout is being constructed at a surprising pace. I can see new pillars everyday. I guess they just dig a hole in the ground and install a pre-fabricated pillar into it (like how we plant trees). The idea is to make the outer ring road signal free. I hope the idea should have been traffic free, with alternative transport projects.

New volvos.

There are many new volvos on the streets now. Blue ones, orange ones, a change from the previously dull red ones.

Well, the Hindu reported a month back that the transport minister of Karnataka visited the volvo facility in Sweden to lean more about Volvo and to discuss purchase of new buses for the BMTC fleet. Β Update : (link to ksrtc site)

Ha ! That’s nice. Next time I buy a GM car, I might go all the way to GM in the USA(if they are still open) and inspect their manufacturing plant, if someone else pay for my tickets ofcourse!

Call it a holiday my minister or tell me what exactly you discussed !

I am wondering why the government is spending so much on a volvo bus when Tata offers simlar city buses for half the price. Did I hear BENEFITS???

The Unknown Rule.

The police is not supposed to stop you and ask for registration and license. The law allows them to stop a vehicle only if he is violating any traffic rule.

I guess the Bangalore police have not read their law books correctly, they still stop motorists and ask for papers. Moreover only police in the rank of Inspector can ask you for documents.

Swine Flu.

The scare was in the whole of last week. TOI have started selling N95 masks through times shopping. Rs 270/- each. You could pay via credit card. Visa/Master accepted.

Scare us out on front page and sell masks on the last page. Way to go !

24 comments

  1. Whew, quite a lot of info there, pretty curious ones as well.

    I loved the red Volvos Xylene, I’m aghast you found the bright red colour ‘dull’;)

    1. Too much of them is what I meant :), orange ones are a change.

  2. Volvos: any means to get people to move away from personal transport and use public transport i guess is good until the metro comes up. perhaps options other than volvo should be considered if the same is available at cheaper expense. don’t know much about the reason on going with volvo. politicians are strange creatures πŸ™‚

    Unknown Rule:Policemen have their own rules. The motto is ‘Any rule that fattens my wallet is welcome’.

    1. Any projects for public transport are most welcome.
      The only reason why the traffic is so bad in bangalore is those one person/car drivers in Bangalore (blame me as well).

  3. I liked this one πŸ™‚

    // I am wondering why the government is spending so much on a volvo bus when Tata offers simlar city buses for half the price. Did I hear BENEFITS?? //

    1. Companies like Volvo often invites potential clients for such all-expenses-paid tours

    2. Yes. I don’t see anyother reasont they are going for volvos, when tata offers such luxury buses for half the rate.

    3. Thanks man ! why else would they go for volvos?

  4. I will buy a mask when the N97 version comes out. N95 is outdated now πŸ˜‰

    (A friend of mine bought an N95 for Rs 250. He said the marked price was Rs 116. Talk about the Swine Flu helping out our industry!)

    1. Yes πŸ˜€
      Swine flu is helping someone atleast.

  5. LOL @ TOI selling masks on last page πŸ™‚

    1. I am not kidding. They are selling it !!!!! πŸ™‚

  6. I heard parents don’t buy even a piggy bank these days, lest they get swine flu πŸ˜‰ As far as the flyovers go, the city is going to turn into a maze of flyovers, ringroads, metros, one-ways and magic boxes.. there won’t be any straight forward roads anymore

    1. I am happy with the projects, however at the pace they are coming up, I am not sure how long that happiness would live.

  7. “Next time I buy a GM car, I might go all the way to GM in the USA(if they are still open) and inspect their manufacturing plant, if someone else pay for my tickets ofcourse!”

    πŸ˜† do ask them if they allow you to take a blog buddy along with you! πŸ˜‰ [that’s me, of course!!]

    1. haha . Most welcome. Not sure if they would pay for the trip. They are very busy attending Obama’s meetings regarding recession and cost cutting and they flyin in, on their private jets.
      Cost cutting !

  8. The Banglore Police is going to get more than enough reasons to stop motorists, judging by Banglore’s driving discipline.

    1. They wont stop you if you cut signals, break traffic rules. But if you follow the lanes, go at 40KMPH on the left most lane, they would stop you and ask for papers.

  9. Yup, true. Nice analysis.

    1. Thank you πŸ™‚

  10. i thought the volvo buses were far superior in quality..:-O
    well thats not a excuse for trip spending taxpayers money!!

    1. Yes, they are !. But then can’t we spent the tax payers money to get twice the number of buses from TATA?

  11. Funny post, as usual! πŸ™‚ TOI selling masks!! Thats a good one! Sounds like a sad joke.

    1. Thanks. Swine flu wave has started again. 😦

Leave a Reply

